Happy Halloween!

Over the years it seems that we Brits have increasingly started to follow the North American way of celebrating Halloween by dressing up in non-spooky costumes and begging for sweets. I’m trying to remember my Halloween costumes growing up and it seems I was either a pumpkin, Jack the Ripper, a priest or Sherlock Holmes (I think one year I was even the Phantom of the Opera!) so I suppose I can hardly claim to have dressed up as spooky related things either.

This year work are having a Halloween party on the Saturday (‘cos we all work late on Friday’s and have an early call on the Saturday) and I’m most likely not going to go (not a party person) but if I do then I’m going to be very un-Halloween-y and go dressed in a TOS-era science uniform (I don’t have a red shirt) as I don’t own anything that could be translated into a Halloween costume (and one of my co-workers is going as Jack the Ripper so that rules that one out!) but I’m thinking ahead for next year and wondering if I went as Pip Boy would anyone get it?

I have about twenty minutes before I need to leave for work and pondering running round the corner to the Sherlock Holmes Museum and buying a deerstalker but I’ve just remembered I don’t own anything else that you’d need to do a Sherlock Holmes-esque costume (and he never actually wore a deerstalker).

Maybe I should go as myself and be the single most terrifying creature ever – A HUMAN! Or just not go at all unless I have to do the lock up. 

This talk of Halloween has made me think about what Halloween was like when I was a kid. I come from Lancashire, in more or less the next village over from Pendle which is not only home of a famous hill but a series of witch trials called (guess!) The Pendle Witch Trials, sort of our version of the Salem Witch trials. It’s the reason why the bus route between Pendle and Manchester is called The Witch Way and why all over Pendle you see logos with a witch on a broomstick. During Halloween there’s a lot of events based around the Pendle Witch Trials and a lot of parties celebrating the events, not so much any more really but definitely when I was younger.

Living down South (London) does make me miss what I consider to be a traditional Halloween and I of course miss Mischief Night, which is the night before Halloween when all the tricks and fun goings on took place. Considering that London does seem to be a little full of us Northerners maybe we can start bringing the traditions of the North to the people of the South? Although, actually I imagine they won’t get it as really they are a different species.

I hope you all have a Happy Halloween and don’t scare yourself too much!

Leave a Reply

