Podcasts I Recommend

I was trying to persuade a co-worker with a newly acquired Ipod Touch that he might enjoy podcasts, I even gave him a few recommendations. Alas, he wasn’t interested and said he got fed up with listening to self-centred people who were up their own arses talk incoherently for twenty minutes – and that sadly put him off listening to any others… I decided not to ask which one he tried as I was a bit disappointed since I thought podcasting would be right up his alley, what with him being a big radio listener and really into his history.

This got me thinking about the podcasts I subscribe to (there’s about twenty, mostly around the same subjects) and which ones I look forward to dropping into my feed. The others I have more of a casual relationship with, if there’s another one I might listen straight away or I might listen when I have a few backed up… sometimes I take a break from some podcasts as I’m a bit bored of the hosts or the subjects.

So, in alphabetical order these are the ones that I eagerly await:

1) Anything Ghost
It’s cheesy, it’s random but it’s a great little show. Lex, the host, reads out the ghost stories and encounters that his listeners have sent in – he has a great way of reading them and even puts in some effects and music of his own creation to help with the mood. I don’t always like the music he’s created and often the stories aren’t that great but there’s often a gem, a nice little spooky story perfect for bedtime. It’s addictive and soon you’ll want to join in, I sent in a random story from a theatre I used to work just because I wanted to contribute.

2) Digital Planet
From the BBC World Service, a great little technology show and about how it affects us in our every day life. They’ve been talking about Twitter parties, open source software (including OpenID), and piracy. One of the recent episodes went to a Twitter party where they talked to the people there about their experiences, why they use it and how it’s bringing likeminded people together (as well as talking about if Twitter is selling out now that it’s become mainstream… I feel that I’ve had that conversation with some recently.)

3) ExtraLife Radio with Scott Johnson
A geek radio show that’s broadcast live each week; I’ve not been able to listen to it live but I certainly look out for each episode. The three hosts have great interaction and talk about movies, games, comic books and other things going on in the world of geekery. All three hosts run web comics that are definitely worth checking out as well as the show.

4) Mark Kermode & Simon Mayo’s Film Reviews
Kermode’s rants are legendary, and his reviews and banter make for great ‘wittertainment’ . Often he’ll review something that I’d never consider seeing and based purely on the review I’ll give it ago – most of the time I’m surprised and wonder what else I’ve dismissed because I didn’t fancy the idea. Dr Kermode is well worth listening to (oh, this is another BBC radio programme that’s released as a podcast each week and one day I’d love to be able to tune in live).

5) Royal Society Lectures
The Royal Society do lectures which the public are free to attend, fortunately for those of us who can’t get there they release the lecture for free. I’ve found that even the topics I’ve only a passing interest or sometimes no interest have got me listening – sometimes the lecturer doesn’t make the subject easy to listen to but most of the time they’re easy to listen to and hugely informative. For those who don’t know, the Royal Society is really ‘The Royal Society of London for the Improvement of Natural Knowledge’ which should give you an idea of what they aim is, so you can imagine what sort of lectures they do.

6) Starbase 66
This is a newcomer and has fast become my favourite Star Trek podcast. The hosts are interesting and bring varying backgrounds to the table, the discussions have been good, I particularly like them talking about homosexuality with Star Trek as it hasn’t been talked about yet in any of the other Trek podcasts I casually listen to. If you like your Trek and other sci-fi, then this is the podcast you’ll enjoy!

7) Skeptics Guide to the Universe
Wrong spelling of ‘skeptics’ aside, I really enjoy the banter between the hosts and am a huge fan of Rebecca Watson. I like hearing a voice of reason to some of the stranger and scary science stories that creep around the world. They often interview interesting people about their work as well as playing an amusing game of ‘Science or Fiction’.

8) WaffleOn
Another newcomer, this is a podcast about British cult shows between 1960 and 1990. So far they’ve only done two episodes, a special on Patrick McGoohan special and an episode on Red Dwarf – both were brilliantly informative and it was nice to hear two close friends discuss their favourite and least favourite things. Based on the quality of the first two episodes I am certainly looking forward to hearing the others… particularly when they get round to doing the ‘Dad’s Army’ episode!

9) Weather Station 3
Unlike the other podcasts I’ve listed, this one doesn’t really have a theme as such but the host has one of those great voices that you can’t help listening to. Weathereye (also present on the Starbase 66 podcast) talks about thoughts on various subjects from Facebook to moronic news stories, he was definitely born to be a podcaster and it certainly helps that he is a former journalist.

4 thoughts on “Podcasts I Recommend

  1. Wow, you just made my day with such a nice review. Thanks, and I hope you keep trying to get other people listening to podcasts. It’s a tough sell, I know, but we have to keep pushing forward. Ultimately, though, I just do this for fun and as part of my connection with my far-flung friends. Thanks again.

  2. I second Weathereye’s sentiment. Thank you so much for what you’ve written about Starbase 66. I hope that we continue to live up to the praise that you have given us here.

  3. Wow, I’m honored to not only make the short list, but to be right next to the SGU. I’m thrilled that you are enjoying our little forays into the world of Trek and SciFi and thank you for your very kind write up. We will do our best to live up to your words of praise. 🙂

    Rick T.
    Starbase 66

Leave a Reply

