2011 BAFTA Awards Winners

The BAFTAs are all wrapped up, and once again I made the mistake of accidentally spoiling it. I thought they were being broadcast live on BBC3 but it turned out that was just the red carpet coverage *sigh*. Oh well, once I realised my mistake I stopped reporting the results on Facebook but continued to geek out with my fellow film geeks on Twitter who were watching @BAFTA.

Biggest upset of the night for me was David Fincher taking home the Best Director award. ‘The Social Network’ was a fairly ordinary film. It was well directed, sure but what about Tom Hooper? He got outstanding performances from Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush and Helena Bonham Carter (and that showed by all three of them walking away with the acting awards) – yes, they are good actors but a good director gets more out of his cast and Tom Hooper proved that. How can the film that walked off with all the acting awards*, original screenplay, best British film and best film but not pick up best director? Big mistake from BAFTA there.

So how did I fair? If you look at my previous entry, I think I did pretty well. ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ really surprised me by beating ‘Of Gods and Men’ and ‘The Secret in their Eyes’ to foreign language film. I put a bet on this year, and I only got 4 / 7 right… should have gone with my BAFTA predictions rather than the favourites really 😉 (I picked Lesley Manville for Supporting Actress [5/2], Christian Bale for Supporting Actor [4/11] and Darren Aronofsky for Director… there was no chance for Aronofsky really but the odds were 66/1).

My Oscar pics are (odds from Coral, correct as of 13th Feb)

Best Film: The King’s Speech (1/66), or ‘The Social Network’ (5/2)
Best Director: Darren Aronofsky (33/1), or Joel and Ethan Coen (40/1)
Best Actor: Colin Firth (1/66), or Jesse Eisenberg (33/1)
Actress: Natalie Portman (1/14)
Supporting Actor: Geoffrey Rush (5/1), or Christian Bale (1/9)
Supporting Actress: Helena Bonham Carter (6/1), or Jackie Weaver (50/1)

 

*By that, I mean all the acting awards it was nominated for.

Leave a Reply

