BAFTA 2012 – my picks

BAFTA announced their short list this morning. Here are my picks.

BEST FILM
THE ARTIST
THE DESCENDANTS
DRIVE
THE HELP
TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY

Not sure about ‘The Help’ being nominated, it was a nice film but I didn’t think it was an awards worthy film. Disappointed ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ got missed off. ‘The Artist’ will walk away with it (and deservedly so).

BRITISH FILM
MY WEEK WITH MARILYN
SENNA
SHAME
TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY
WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN

This one is a bit trickier, I think ‘Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy’ has the edge but ‘Shame’ and ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ are both worthy of the awards. I would hate to have to decide this category.

DIRECTOR
THE ARTIST – Michel Hazanavicius
DRIVE – Nicolas Winding Refn
HUGO – Martin Scorsese
TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY – Tomas Alfredson
WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN – Lynne Ramsay

Again, tricky. ‘Drive’ is one of those films that people have touted highly in their best of’s but I don’t think it will pick up a gong, Martin Scorsese is another strong candidate but he seems to get the awards because he hasn’t had the awards (his win for ‘The Departed’). I think Michel Hazanavicius or Lynne Ramsay will walk away with the statue.

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
THE ARTIST – Michel Hazanavicius
BRIDESMAIDS – Annie Mumolo, Kristen Wiig
THE GUARD – John Michael McDonagh
THE IRON LADY – Abi Morgan
MIDNIGHT IN PARIS – Woody Allen

I don’t understand how ‘Bridesmaids’ is in any way original. Surprised that ‘Shame’ hasn’t been nominated in this category, particularly as I don’t think ‘The Iron Lady’ had a very strong script. I would love ‘The Guard’ to win for this as that was a fantastic script but I think ‘The Artist’ might just get it, which would be awesome just for “silent movie wins original screenplay” headlines.

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
THE DESCENDANTS – Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash
THE HELP – Tate Taylor
THE IDES OF MARCH – George Clooney, Grant Heslov, Beau Willimon
MONEYBALL – Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin
TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY – Bridget O’Connor, Peter Straughan

I can’t see them not giving a George Clooney film an award but I think the clear winner in this category is ‘Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy’.

ACTOR
BRAD PITT – Moneyball
GARY OLDMAN – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
GEORGE CLOONEY – The Descendants
JEAN DUJARDIN – The Artist
MICHAEL FASSBENDER – Shame

Another tricky one but I think Jean Dujardin was brilliant and the role required more acting as it was silent. He couldn’t just rely on very good dialogue.

ACTRESS
BÉRÉNICE BEJO – The Artist
MERYL STREEP – The Iron Lady
MICHELLE WILLIAMS – My Week with Marilyn
TILDA SWINTON – We Need to Talk About Kevin
VIOLA DAVIS – The Help

Meryl Streep was very good and if the film had been better I would be touting her to pick up the awards but I think Tilda Swinton gave a career defining performance. She was outstanding.

SUPPORTING ACTOR
CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER – Beginners
JIM BROADBENT – The Iron Lady
JONAH HILL – Moneyball
KENNETH BRANAGH – My Week with Marilyn
PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN – The Ides of March

I want Kenneth Brannagh to win just because he is Kenneth Brannagh and who else could play Olivier? Jim Broadbent was very good in ‘The Iron Lady’ but it’s the film that lets me down. Bit disappointed that Alan Rickman didn’t get short-listed again this year.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS
CAREY MULLIGAN – Drive
JESSICA CHASTAIN – The Help
JUDI DENCH – My Week with Marilyn
MELISSA MCCARTHY – Bridesmaids
OCTAVIA SPENCER – The Help

As much as I absolutely hated ‘Bridesmaids’, I thought Melissa McCarthy was excellent as Megan who was without a doubt the best and most surprising character. Carey Mulligan is brilliant in whatever she does and is probably the strongest contender in this category.

Leave a Reply

