‘Sherlock’ thoughts and speculation

“Of their terrible chief few details came out during the proceedings, and if I have now been compelled to make a clear statement of his career, it is due to those injudicious champions who have endeavoured to clear his memory by attacks upon him who I shall ever regard as the best and the wisest man whom I have ever known.” – THE FINAL PROBLEM

Since the spectacular ending of ‘Sherlock’, I’ve been thinking about Mycroft.

Having Moriarty’s use Mycroft to bring his brother crashing down was a genius turn from Gatiss and Moffat. It’s also going to make for an incredibly interesting version of EMPT.

I’d like to think Mycroft is in helping Sherlock fake his death, I’d like to think he was the guy on the bike who knocked into Watson (all the comments about his diet, it would be Sherlock’s joke). I’d also like to think that Sherlock understands that Mycroft really didn’t intend this to happen, Sherlock being the highly logical being he is would understand that Mycroft would do anything to get Moriarty to talk. Whatever is going to happen I doubt that Sherlock will ever trust his brother again, if he ever did.

I also think someone is going to get punched during EMPT and my money is on Mycroft, by John or Lestrade. Or both. In fact, I can see Mrs Hudson giving him a slap.

My friend Alistair posted about the stories he’d like to see during the next series. These are the ones I’d love to see tackled:

1) Charles Augustus Milverton – with the victim being Mycroft. It fits. Take Mycroft down and you take down the British government.

2) The Musgrave Ritual – this is one of my favourite stories and all I can think about is how much fun you could have with technology.

3) The Illustrious Client – they’ve done something already with a very distinguished client but you know royalty, there’s always something 😉

4) The Copper Beeches –  I can see this getting quite dark.

Leave a Reply

