HorrorBlock #4: Don’t Look

My love affair with the HorrorBlock just keeps growing! This month there is a wonderful and awesome array of things which I would actually buy for myself! Not that the ClassicBlock’s I’ve received haven’t been interesting, they were more broadly geeky and evidentially I’m not that sort of geek. I don’t think there are many people reading this blog, or at least not many people who also subscribe to the NerdBlock’s but I would definitely be interesting in hearing from other people about their views on the blocks.

So, what did I get this month?

WP_20150303_001

WP_20150303_002

This months tshirt is Addams Family inspired and wonderful. I don’t think a tshirt has made me smile this much in ages! I love the Addams Family and if the rumours about the St James Theatre putting on the Addams Family musical are true, I will be there with bells on.

WP_20150303_003

Slap watch. I imagine the age range of the HorrorBlock is older than the other blocks so I guess most will remember the slap band trend which was all the range in the 90s. I never had one because I didn’t think they were cool but if you’d have put a watch on one I would have had hundreds of them. I love clocks.

WP_20150303_004

GIANT MICROBE! OMG, I freaking love these. I went through a phase of buying one every Christmas for my family as my brother was studying chemical engineering and my mum worked for the NHS. Apparently my dad was quite taken with them as well. This one is a zombie virus and it’s an adorable little bug.

WP_20150303_005

Bucket of slime. I remember playing with these as a kid, spending hours making rude noises in the car. I’m adding this to my brothers birthday bag as he would get the most enjoyment out of it (plus he’s a chemical engineer, he might just like it for scientific reasons).

WP_20150303_006

Bitten by Kelley Armstrong (a first novel from a Canadian author, according to the acknowledgements). The blurb from the back says: “Elena Michaels is the world’s only female werewolf  – and she’s tired of it. Tired of a life spent hiding and protecting, tired of a world that not only accepts the worse of her – her temper, her violence – but requires it. Worst of all, Elena realizes she’s growing content with that life, with being that person. Overwhelmed by the new passions coursing through her body, Elena leaves the Pack and moves to the city to try living as a human. When the Pack leader calls to ask for help fighting a sudden uprising, she only agrees because she owes him. Once this is over, she’ll be squared with the Pack and free to live life as a human. Which is what she wants. Really. An erotically charged thriller, Bitten will awaken the voracious appetite of every reader, as the age-old battle between human and beast comes to a head in one small town and within one woman’s body.”

Now I have to admit this is not what I would normally pick up for myself to read but I’m trying to the new type of 50 Book Challenge which comes with a list of things like “read a book you wouldn’t normally read” so…I will let you know. Once I finish Humans by Matt Haig, of course.

WP_20150303_007

Finally, this months Rue Morgue.

I have been consistently impressed and happy with the HorrorBlock contents so it goes without saying, I’m continuing until such a time where I can’t really afford it…or I run out of room in my tshirt drawer which to be honest, is already the case. I think I’m going to have to start rolling them rather than folding them.

Leave a Reply

