Into the Wilderness

I grew up in the middle of Lancashire, surrounded by endless fields. I moved to London when I was eighteen, one of the things I miss greatly about Lancashire are the endless fields. The ability to walk and find yourself completely alone. Night time actually being dark.

One of the things I always wanted to do was go camping but I don’t come from a family who do that sort of thing. As an adult, going camping has never been on my radar particularly as I live on my own and the only time I’ve actually been on holiday was about seven years ago when I had a very nice four-day stay in Penzance, Cornwall. I’ve since realised that being on my own and going camping are two things which do rather go together.

It’s out the window for this year but next year I’ve decided I’m going to actual take more than a week of holiday at a time and go camping. Properly go camping. Camping and hiking. Not wild camping in Dartmour, that’s a bit more advanced but definitely going off camping for a week.

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

