Dates with Harry Potter

31st December, 1997.

This is the day I first read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

You might be wondering how I can be so specific. Easily. At midnight on 31st December, 1997 the final Morse Code message was sent to British ships (Happy New Year). I was standing on board the bridge of an RFA (Royal Fleet Auxiliary) ship in Portsmouth Harbour having spent the day in ‘my’ cabin reading.

My brother (who is 4yrs younger than me), had been given the book as a Christmas present but for whatever reason it had ended up in my cabin. I was bored and started reading. I finished it one sitting and promptly forced it everyone else in my family. From that point, Harry Potter became important in my life, not quite as important as Sherlock Holmes but up there.

On 20th July, 2007 I waited in line at Waterstone’s Covent Garden for the midnight release of the final book. I pre-ordered the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play text and JK Rowling confirmed that, that’s the end of Harry Potter.

The first book came out when I was 11yrs old. I’m 30yr now 0_0

Leave a Reply

